Print this pageSend by EmailSave as PDF


( 20 Nov. to 28 th Nov.2019)

    Golden Jubilee edition disappoints with poor management , moderate

     quality of selected films and  lack of cinema culture


Since it was the golden jubilee year of the IFFI ,it was expected to be a big razzmatazz and extravagant affair with glam and glamour besides the high quality standards of films . Alas ! this was not to be. It was no different than what it had been in Goa for last 15 years.

About record no. of ten thousand delegates, apprx.400 media persons were in attendance. About 200 films from 76 countries were screened. Attraction of the fest were 90 film premiers and 24 Oscar submission films .

                               INAUGURAL EVENT

The I &B Minister Prakash Javdekar presided and Guest was Chief Minister of Goa. The Chief Guest was the millennium Star Amitabh Bachchan while the  Icon of Golden Jubilee of IFFI was super actor Rajinikanth.  Producer-director  Karan Johar was the host . Other film Industry guests  were Ramesh and Kiron Joneja Sippy, Rahul Rawail and Imtiaz Ali . LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD was conferred on the Internationally acclaimed actor Isabelle Huppert for her outstanding contribution to Cinema. Thespian Rajinikanth  was conferred the ICON of Golden Jubilee of IFFI award.

  Inaugural function was followed by the opening  Italian film "Despite the Fog" scripted and directed by  Goran Paskaljevic . It was a marvellous moving film and deserved an opening laurel   .                      IFFI2019.Inagural photo.jpg      



    IN CLOSING EVENT  actors Prem Chopra, Arvind Swamy, Kathak doyen Pandit Birju Maharaj, Dancer Tanushri Shankar , Music Composer Illya Raja, film director Manju Borah were felicitated for their Lifetime contribution. The closing film was of the Iranian master Mohsen Makhmalbaf's Italian debut film "Marghe and her Mother" .. Deftly directed by Makhmalbaf in his inimitable style and flawless touch.

List of  Award winner Films


 “Particlesthe French-Swiss film directed by Blaise Harrison won the Golden Peacock Award . This includes a cash prize worth Rs 40 lakh, a trophy and a citation. The jury described ‘Particles’,  as an “ambitious yet modest film about the mysteries of being a teenager.”


‘Best Director Award’ was conferred to Lijo Jose Pellissery for his Malayalam film ‘Jallikattu’.. Award carries a Silver Peacock trophy, a citation and a cash prize worth Rs 15 lakh. 

The Best Actor (Male) Award went to Seu Jorge for his role in Marighella and Best Actor (Female) Award went to Usha Jadhav for her role in a Marathi crime film, Mai Ghaat: Crime No. 103/2005. Both the awards carry a silver peacock trophy, certificate and a cash prize worth Rs 10 lakh each.

The  Special Jury Award was conferred to Pema Tseden for his Tibetan film ‘Balloon’ and the ICFT –UNESCO Gandhi Medal went to Italian film ‘Rwanda’, which has been directed by Riccardo Salvetti.

Best Debut Feature Film of a Director: Amin Sidi Boumediene for Abou Leila Marius Olteanu for Monsters

Special mention:  for the film “Hellaro”


   ---  By  Mohan Siroya




Written by: 

Mohan Siroya


Add new comment

Email is kept private and will not be shown publicly. Leaving this field blank may lead to disapproval of comment, if you are not a regular commenter.


  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <ul> <ol> <li>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

Like - Share



Enter your e-mail address below.
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.