14th Mumbai Film Festival (MFF) - 2012 - Part-II

Print this pageSend by EmailSave as PDF

18th - 25th October, 2012

Click here to read 14th MFF - 2012 - Part-I

Usual Mismanagement Galore, no importance to media at large except for entry / normal screening registration card; Opening and Closing functions and movies reserved as a ‘Private Fiefdom” of Reliance Entertainment.

Only improvement was, it has grown big in terms no of movies in competitive or non competitive categories, and response from the cine goers across the city, as even INOX had clandestinely found selling tickets to local SOBO people in the guise of advance booking of entry ticket earmarking eat no.; thus rendering the Fest Entry card redundant. This was an unusual and new corrupt practice for any film fest. Perhaps, the negative effect of more screens and more internationally acclaimed films.

Opening / Inaugural function and film

Evening saw a grand award function hosted at the National Centre for the Performing Arts (NCPA) that witnessed the honouring of thespian Waheeda Rehman with the Lifetime Achievement Award for an Indian Personality, followed by the conferring of awards to the winners of other competition segments at the festival.

Looking graceful and ravishing in south silk saree, Waheeda told "I'm thrilled to receive this award from MAMI, a body of the industry at an international film hosted in my city Mumbai and that too during the course of the centenary year of Indian cinema", said the acclaimed actor, "I dedicate this award to the directors, producers, co-actors, technicians who ve been a part of this journey with me."

The results of the eagerly awaited competition category International Competition for the First Feature Films of Directors led to ‘Aquí Y Alla´ (Here And There) being recognized as the Best Film with a Golden Gateway of India Award and a cash prize of US $ 100,000 collectively awarded to the producer, director & sales agent of the film while the Jury Grand Prize of the Silver Gateway of India Award and cash prize of US$ 50,000 was won by “Beast Of The Southern Wild”. The Silver Gateway Award for Best Director was given to Antonio Méndez Esparza for Aquí Y Alla´ (Here And There),Silver Gateway Of India Award for Best Actor was handed to Dwight Henry for “Beasts of the Southern Wild” and Best Actress Award picked up by Julia Garner for “Electrick Children”. The Jury Award of Technical Excellence being awarded to Pankaj Kumar for “Ship Of Theseus”. The Special Jury Award was given to Musa Sayeed for “Valley Of Saints”.

In the newly introduced competition section for Indian feature films ‘India Gold’, “Miss Lovely” for Ahluwalia, was announced as the Best Film and awarded the Golden Gateway of India Trophy and a cash prize of Rs. 10 lakh while “Shahid” won the Runner’s up to Best Film and Silver Gateway trophy and cash prize of Rs. 5 lakh. The Special Jury Award of a Silver Gateway of India trophy was given to Manjeet Singh for docu film ‘Mumbai Cha Raja’. The Reliance Media Works CreaTech (Creativity & Technology) Award was bestowed upon the makers of “Miss Lovely”, who will be entitled to utilize the resources Reliance Media Works Service Solutions for a value up to Rs.1 lakh.

This year another category was added. ‘Celebrate Age’ competition category presented in association with the Harmony Silvers Foundation announced "Night Boats” (Nocni brodovi) by Igor Mirkovic as the Best Film while “The Delay” (La Demora) by Rodrigo Pla the was awarded as the Runner’s –Up to the Best Film. Film “Ping Pong” by Hugh Hartford received the Special Mention by Jury.

Dimensions Mumbai, a short film competition segment that featured works by young Mumbaikars below the age of 25 years depicting aspects of life in Mumbai announced. The film "Local” by Bharat Singh Pawar as the Best Film in the category while the Runner’s Up to the Best Film was awarded to “Aakhon Dekha Haal” by Sudhanshu Prakash Sawant. Films “Bombay Kulfi” by Vaibhav Hiwase and “Karwaa” by Errol Peter Marks and Aaditya Sawant received the Special Mention by the Jury.

Best Film by Mumbai Young Critics was awarded to “Beasts of the Southern Wild” made by Benh Zeitlin. The film “Hunt“was selected as the winner of the Audience Choice Award and given the Silver Gateway Award and US $ 20,000.

The eight-day long cinematic extravaganza concluded with the India premiere of ‘Blancanieves, a film by renowned Spanish director Pablo Berger. This was abetter film than the opening film. The event was graced by the presence of luminaries such as Ramesh Sippy, Shobha De, Prachi Desai, Goldie Behl, Ila Arun, Kaajal Agarwal among numerous others.

In addition to the exquisite cinematic fare, the festival also hosted a no of workshops, panel discussions and symposiums / seminars that were most illuminating and insightful for all attending cinephiles and patrons. Having received a phenomenal response yet again, the festival looks brightly towards another year of showing more quality cinema to a wider audience.

In an event of such a big magnitude one can find out no of shortcomings, but this event should be applauded as means of providing window to world cinema and it should be kept away from party politics.

A few Good Films besides the Award winning Films

"AMOUR" by Michael Haneke,

"Holy Motors" by Leos Carx,

"Beyond the Hills" by Cristian Mungly,

"A Royal Affair" by Nikolaj Arcel,

"Snow White" by Pablo Berger,

"Night Across the Street" by Raoul Ruiz,

"Like Someone In Love" by Abbas Kirarostami,

"Me and You" by Bernardo Bertolucci


Written by: 

Mohan Siroya


Add new comment

Email is kept private and will not be shown publicly. Leaving this field blank may lead to disapproval of comment, if you are not a regular commenter.


  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <ul> <ol> <li>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

Like - Share



Enter your e-mail address below.
Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.